Home > Food, Munich > Nicht Ohne Meine Wurst (Not Without My Sausage)

Nicht Ohne Meine Wurst (Not Without My Sausage)

September 28, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Munich is a sausage-fest.  And I’m not referring to a frat party before the girls show up.  The plethora of wurst at your disposal is mind-blowing.  Four days in Munich is not enough to try every type of these cylindrical delicacies that you can buy by the inch (centimeters of course).

But it just doesn’t stop there. Culinarily speaking, this Bavarian metropolis is known for more than its sausage.  Schweinshaxn or pig knuckle will have you craving more like a bad caffeine addiction or it might cause you to slip into a coma from which you won’t easily awaken.

If bite after bite of meat is not really your thing you can always stick to the grand assortment of cheeses and breads.  On the sweeter side – chocolate and truffles will have your taste buds dancing for joy and wishing you didn’t actually eat the half pound of sauerkraut and pig knuckle just an hour ago. And did you see Maria’s schnitzel?

After a hearty German meal it’s always a good idea to work it off somehow.  Locals sometimes choose to dawn their wetsuits and ride the waves of the Eisbach – which, by the way is a river.  I decided to hula hoop in Munich’s city center on Kaufingerstrasse only after they told me I couldn’t get on the horses.  Guess you can’t always get what you want.  But at least I will always have my sausage.  But how to get it all home?


Categories: Food, Munich Tags: ,
  1. July 30, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    I together with my guys came digesting the best tips and hints from your site and then suddenly
    I got a terrible suspicion I had not expressed
    respect to the web site owner for those techniques. All of the
    boys came totally thrilled to study all of them and have in effect
    without a doubt been enjoying these things. Appreciation for really being so accommodating as well as for considering varieties
    of smart guides most people are really eager to be informed
    on. My personal honest regret for not expressing
    appreciation to you sooner.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment